Strawberry Pecan Cake

Okay, I know it’s not the “in thing” to post recipes from soup cans, back of pasta packages or side panels from a cake mix. But you know, there are some pretty good ones out there. Think about it. I know they are put there to sell the product but somebody had to first make it, test it and decide it was worthy of promotion. I know also that this recipe is in many cookbooks and/or tucked away in recipe boxes belonging to some of you. A churchwoman gave it to us and it is so good, it is worth sharing with you. I challenge any of you to give it a try and tell me it is not absolutely h-e-a-v-e-n-l-y.

Strawberry-Pecan Cake


1 box white cake mix (approx. 21 oz)
1 cup vegetable oil
4 large eggs
1 cup flaked coconut
1 package (3 oz) strawberry gelatin
1/2 cup milk
1 cup mashed fresh or frozen strawberries (if using frozen, drain the juice off and reserve)
1 cup chopped pecans


Strawberry Cream Cheese Icing
1 1/2 packages (12 oz) cream cheese, room temperature
3/4 stick margarine (3 ounces), room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla
3/4 cup chopped pecans
1/2 cup coconut 
3/4 cup strawberries, mashed (drain and reserve juice)
8 or more cups sifted powdered sugar


Mix cake mix with gelatin. Add everything else and beat until well mixed. Bake in 3 (I prefer 4) generously greased floured 8 or 9-inch round layer pans at 350° F. for 35 minutes, or until cake tests done*.


To make icing, cream together cream cheese and margarine, mix in vanilla and add powdered sugar until a firm but spreadable consistency is achieved (chilling will also help if icing seems a little soft). Stir in drained strawberries, pecans and coconut. Drizzle cooled layers with reserved juice then spread with a layer of icing. Ice the sides and top.


Store cake in an airtight container or wrapping; refrigerate.


*Lightly touch cake in the center with a finger; if it springs back, the cake is done.

8 thoughts on “Strawberry Pecan Cake

  1. Lana

    I have an old cookbook titled "Best Recipes From the Backs of Boxes, Bottles, Cans and Jars," and do you know what? It has some really great recipes in it. I wouldn't hesitate to use a recipe printed on a product because I don't think a company would want you have a failure with their product, right? They'd want you to like it and buy that product again.And this cake looks like a winner to me. Boxed cake mix and all. What's wrong with taking a little shortcut once in a while 🙂 Thanks for sharing another great recipe, Drick!

    Reply
  2. Laura

    I have to admit, I have never baked a cake from the box, and you know me I'm a baker (LOL). I'm intrigued, I never made a cake with gelatin in the batter, I have used frozen juice or fruits, but never gelatin.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

