Tomato Salsa for Canning

My favorite salsa

Not only because it is my recipe, this one is a little sweet and is wonderful with so many foods. That is what I like about it. With the added sweetness, it just brings a nice, pleasant taste to your palate with just enough heat all surrounded in a thick and rich tomato sauce.

I make this just about every year. That’s how much we eat it. In fact, year before last, we doubled the recipe. During a drive back from Tennessee, we stopped and bought a couple of baskets of Sand Mountain tomatoes, rich red and almost ripe. They were juicy, sweet and I knew they were meant for my salsa. When I got to going in the kitchen, I realized I didn’t quite have enough, so I added several cans of diced canned tomatoes. I really could not tell the difference that year. If you like your salsa saucy hot, add more peppers. I sometimes add in a few pickled jalapeños at serving time.

Yes, it is great as a dip. We have a hard time not eating a whole jar in one sitting. It is a great addition to anything you would normally use a Picante type salsa in and because it is a little sweet, it blends perfectly well with all kinds of meats and vegetables. It is a very good table salsa.

This is the last of the canning recipes for this week folks but I saved the best for last. Enjoy!

Tomato Salsa

yields about 8 pints

8 cups peeled, chopped & drained tomatoes
2 1/2 cups chopped onions
1 1/2 cups chopped green bell peppers
1 1/2 to 2 cups chopped jalapeño and or Serrano peppers
6 to 8 garlic cloves -minced
2 teaspoons cumin
2 teaspoons black pepper
2 tablespoons canning salt
1/3 cup sugar, less if tomatoes are sweet
1/3 cup white vinegar
1 -15 oz can tomato sauce
1 -12 oz can tomato paste

    Mix ingredients in a large pot and bring to a slow boil. Skim off any foam. Taste and adjust peppers if needed. Some folks may want it a little hotter (I have added a jar of pickled jalapeños with success). Simmer for 10 minutes. Spoon into pint jars leaving 1/2-inch head-space. Add lids and seal for 15 minutes using water bath method for canning.

    From my family cookbook Grits to Guacamole 

    7 thoughts on “Tomato Salsa for Canning

    1. MaryMoh

      This looks really delicious. Would be fun to try. I have so far used tomatoes mainly in soup and sometimes stir fries. I'm sure it's lovely served with many things. Thanks for sharing and enjoy your weekend.

      Reply

    Leave a comment