Chicken with Celery & Mushroom Gravy

Country cooking with a little help from a Greek…

No time to go to the store today…  Sometimes you gotta cook what you have on hand especially when your day around the house is already full of tasks. After a quick take of the crisper drawer the other day, I found some celery and mushrooms that needed using and a package of boneless chicken breast in the freezer. Looks like supper is gonna be creative.

Later that nite…
Folks, sometimes I amaze myself as this was one delicious chicken dish and the gravy was exceptional. The Greek seasoning was just perfect with the celery gravy as it had all the flavorings I looked for, and that’s a good thing ’cause it went well with my country cooking. I served the chicken over rice along side helpings of collard greens, speckled butter beans, fried corn and of course, cornbread. Change out the seasoning if you desire but I’m keeping it in for the next time I make this. And I will make it again… Enjoy!

Brown the cutlets in oil &
simmer in gravy for over an hour

Chicken with Celery & Mushroom Gravy

3 large boneless chicken breast
Homemade Greek seasoning or Cavender’s
3 tablespoons olive oil
3 celery stalks, sliced
1/4 cup chopped bell pepper
1/2 cup white wine
1/2 cup finely diced mushrooms
2 tablespoons flour
2 cups chicken stock

    Rinse the chicken and slice horizontally in half. Pat each piece with paper towels to dry. Sprinkle liberally with Greek seasoning.

    Heat the oil in a wide skillet over medium high heat and brown chicken on both sides. I did this in two batches. Remove chicken and all but 2 tablespoons of oil. Add celery and bell pepper. SautΓ© until tender and deglaze pan with the wine cooking most of it away. Add the mushrooms and flour stirring to cook mushrooms for about a minute. Add the chicken stock and stir until sauce thickens. Add the chicken back into the pan and spoon sauce over to cover. Simmer on low heat uncovered for over an hour or until tender. I left it on for well over an hour and half to let the celery almost melt away.

    Serve over rice, couscous or coarse ground grits.

    17 thoughts on “Chicken with Celery & Mushroom Gravy

    1. MaryMoh

      Mmmm…this looks creamy and delicious. I love the look of the sauce. It simple too…just what I like. I'm looking into your Western sauce again. Hoping to try out enchiladas soon. Am going to invite my friends for Mexican food again! They are sure lucky huh πŸ˜€ You are my sweet guru that I can always count on πŸ˜€

      Reply
    2. Mother Rimmy

      Mouthwatering! I need to have you teach my the right way to cook greens. They are so healthy, but mine always come out too bland. Would love to have your collard green recipe. πŸ™‚

      Reply
    3. Marguerite

      Looks "down home" delicious, cher! I've never tried Greek seasoning, but it sounds good! Love the mushroom gravy, too! Btw, I made your mushroom-rice dish and it was out of this world!

      Reply
    4. Chef Dennis

      I don't think I would ever be disappointed by anything you just happen to have around the house. You always manage to kick it up an extra notch or two where the flavor is concerned….this chicken dish sounds wonderful! Thanks for sharing it with us!

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

    