Fresh Sweet Corn Pie

what I learned about

Sweet Summer Corn

There are many factors like pollinators of wind and insects, the up and down conditions of weather, as well as what you might already suspect, soil conditions and the amount of moisture; all affecting the outcome of corn and how it will taste. Crazy as it sounds, there is more than all that.

Of the many genes, over a dozen, that can improve the sweetness of a corn kernel, three are thought of as the most important in deciding the content of sugar awarded to corn varieties.
OKAY, let's get to the good stuff – READ MORE > ยป

13 thoughts on “Fresh Sweet Corn Pie

  1. My Little Space

    Guru Drick, this pie sounds simply delish. As I always said simple is beautiful and love the top crust too. Bookmark this. Thanks and have a nice day.Blesings, Kristy

    Reply
  2. Pierce

    Besides getting great recipes from you I always learn something! Your recipe for green bean casserole was a hit. I had to modify it but…delish!

    Reply
  3. Pachecopatty

    This corn pie looks delicious and what a great idea- why not put corn in a pie? I love fresh corn but it takes up a lot of room in the garden, only grew it once! I think all veggies are best picked out of the garden first thing in the morning, it's kind of a farmer thing;-)

    Reply
  4. Trix

    Who knew that along with all of your other talents you were secretly holding out on us that you have a scientific side as well? ; ) Thanks for the lesson, this was fascinating and I had no idea of all the intricacies of corn sweetness and storage. I will keep this in mind this season!! And of course your corn pie looks amazing – just saying the words "corn pie" in my head causes intense salivation, I am serious. Corn pie corn pie corn pie!

    Reply
  5. Magic of Spice

    To address #3 your grandmother was a genius, clearly! And obviously you inherited these genes much like our corn here, only better ๐Ÿ™‚ This is an amazing pie, amazing! Something my dad never made for me, I will scorn him soon enough ๐Ÿ˜‰ I agree with Trix here, so many talents!Hope you had a wonderful Memorial Day weekend and are having a fantastic week…

    Reply
  6. Marguerite

    My oh my, corn pie! Looks absolutely fab and I can't wait to try it! There is one market, here, where I can get this Florida sweet corn and I'll be heading there, soon! Thanks for the great recipe, cher!

    Reply
  7. Claudia

    This is one sweet way to use corn. In MN – we are blessed with grand corn (in August) and I have my favorites. Taking note of this for when the corn does come in. I always look for corn picked that day!

    Reply
  8. Kate@Diethood

    I learn so much every time that I come here… thank you, Drick! ๐Ÿ™‚ I have never had a sweet corn pie…I would love to give this a try. I'm curious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

