Grilled Pork Rib Roast

It's agrillin' time…

Last year I got on a kick of agrillin' everything using a marmalade as the starting point, remember that? From my satsuma-kumquat marmalade we enjoyed a roasted Turkey Breast at Christmastime and a delectable Crown Roast for New Year's. This recipe is similar as the roast but with a mere mo essence of flavors that I think is just outstanding for pork, especially grilled off the heat over a 3 to 4 hour period. Succulent, moist, tender all because of the marinade that's been a'workin' on the meat fibers overnight. Flavorful, tasty, savory from the spices and fruits that's 'bout the best seasoning I know for pork.

Now, for those not from the south, I thought you might need a lesson on our dialect or taukin' as you can see, sometimes I throw it in for fun. I think it is very important to speak (and write) the dialect of your upbringing whether you are a Midwesterner, a Valley girl or surfer dude, from Jersey, from Texas, heck, even from furr south. Ima starting ya'll off easy from the beginning, with the letter 'a', spoken as 'ah'. We tend to add this as a prefix to many words to beautify the importance of the meaning. Like the present participles above agrillin' and aworkin'. We also tend to emphasize words used as future tense auxiliary as in ahm agonna git yo Paw iffin dey cum alookin'. Just as we like to add an 'a' for importance, we also like to take it away sometimes too. It's all 'bout what makes sense, to us that is.

So you see, when it comes time to gittin' down and agrillin', we don't mess 'round. Dat's sum serious bidnis in des'here parts. Seriously, dissin one fine marinade folks.  Enjoy!

OKAY, let's get to the good stuff – READ MORE > »

16 thoughts on “Grilled Pork Rib Roast

  1. Kristen

    Amazing pork, as I have come to expect nothing less from any meat you have made.I think I might be glad I am moving to Florida and not any other southern state….enough "northerners" have migrated there so as to keep the dialect mostly familiar!

    Reply
  2. Pacheco Patty

    Wow Drick, this is perfection in a pork roast, you are a master of marinades and this recipe is no exception 😉 my iPad changes the spelling on my comments if it doesn't like my word, imagine how your words from the south would be translated, might be kinda scary;-)

    Reply
  3. Pierce

    I have printed out your artichoke pasta salad. This will be perfect for one of these sultry summer evenings. The roast looks great too! ALL your recipes look great!!By the way, I read your blog daily through Google Reader but sometimes, I cannot get the comment window to open for me. It's my connection, I know that. Grrrr

    Reply
  4. MaryMoh

    Looks super good…mmmm. I love that orange and marmalade in the marinade. I can imagine every bite. Must be heavenly! Just love it. Thanks very much for sharing, Drick. Hope you have a great day.

    Reply
  5. Magic of Spice

    Perfectly beautiful grilled roast and as always a fantastic marinade…oh, and thanks for the tutorial. I think the only dialect in Southern CA is "Dude" and I try to avoid it 😉 Fun post my friend…

    Reply
  6. LMB

    I made this on Saturday for my husband and my father. The flavor was amazing! I did find that the 140 degrees was way too low, I cooked to 160 and it was still to bloody for my taste. Could have gone to 170. Definately will make this again. So moist and tender.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

