Fresh Corn and Tomato Pie

1 of 2 pies

Sweet Picking

About this time each year in the lower south comes one of my favorite seasons, the harvesting of the sweet Silver King corn from the fields in Baldwin county, Loxley AL to be exact. Now I've already told you the varying types of sweet corn and what to look for in finding the sweetest. And I've mentioned before the importance of picking corn early in the morning before the sun gets too high, keeping it cold on ice as you transport it home, all in the sake of retaining the sweetness and the just picked flavor. But I'll say this one more time – it is very important to get on with however you plan on its storage before the sugars turn to starch. Otherwise, you might as well settle for the taste of what we call field corn being full of starch, which is okay to eat but as my granddaddy put it, is better leaving behind for the deer and turkeys.

OKAY, let's get to the good stuff – READ MORE > »

12 thoughts on “Fresh Corn and Tomato Pie

  1. Pacheco Patty

    Thanks for sharing your recipe for tomato pie, I think I'm becoming obsessed with making my own tomato pie! I like your seasonings and the addition of fresh corn, yum;-). I also like your idea of making two pies, one to share is a great idea and will definitely make you a well liked neighbor;-)

    Reply
  2. Marguerite

    Now that's what I call the best of summer, wrapped up in a pie! Looks scrumptious and I will be adding it to my "Drick file"! Merci for another great recipe!

    Reply
  3. Trix

    WOW. This is everything I like about summer in a pie (plus bacon). I love love love it, and thank you for all the tips on dealing with corn!

    Reply
  4. Liz

    This looks wonderful. I love fresh corn with tomatoes.You say "Sprinkle with remaining cracker crumbs and the cheese." – what did you do with the first part?

    Reply
  5. Frank

    Corn and tomatoes… now, that's summer in your plate! Great tips on picking and storing corn. Not that I'm likely to pick my own any time soon, but I love knowing these things anyway!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

