Grilled Cajun Chicken Po-boys with Comeback Sauce

Cultural Classics

The po-boy is another southern classic food icon born out of generosity and comes from New Orleans. There are so many wonderful foods from all over the south, many from here in Mobile but of late, I have been obsessed with the foods from the Big Easy. This one however, blends a trio of things I like from the south: Grilled chicken marinaded in Cajun spices, Mobile’s Comeback Sauce and New Orleans Po-boys.

Martin Bros in the French Quarter, 1920's
streetcar burning on Canal St, 1929

First, a little history of the poor boy sandwich for those interested. Bennie and Clovis Martin left their Raceland, Louisiana, home in the Acadiana region in the mid-1910s for New Orleans.
OKAY, let's get to the good stuff – READ MORE > »

13 thoughts on “Grilled Cajun Chicken Po-boys with Comeback Sauce

  1. Pierce

    Drick, I found that history to be very interesting. I did not know all that. As always, your recipes are da bomb! I actually have a file for fellow foodie’s recipes and yours are always in the mix! But I don’t know if anything will beat that creamy seafood dish.

    Reply
  2. motherrimmy

    I am having so much fun reading your blog these days. I just love the history lessons. The photo of the Martin's sandwich just – well, brings an awe of how rich our history of caring is. Great post. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Kristen

    That was so much fun to read. I have always wondered at the different names for sub-like sandwiches. I am really liking the sound of the come back sauce. It would sure have me coming back for more!!We seem to be settling in pretty well. I have figured out where 'most everything is and the kids are starting to make friends. School starts soon, so that will definitely help everyone…including me! Thanks for your kind words and support.

    Reply
  4. Marguerite

    What an awesome poboy! Love the sauce, and will definitely be trying it and this wonderful grilled chicken. You can grill meat better than anyone I've ever known! Love that spice mop, too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

