Better Beef Stroganoff

Change is good…

If you are like me, as much as you like Aunt Sue Ellen's or Granny Mae's recipe, even your own mother's version, sometimes you try to improve on it, do you not? There are several I love in our family, a favorite coming from my sister's Texan in-laws that uses ground beef and condensed soups; I make it often and it don't need improving. But, then there's another one that uses an expensive cut of meat that, well, no matter how you braise in, pound on it or flash pan sear it, it just comes out like a piece of walrus hide, not that I've had any mind you.

So my goal was to change up this recipe and make it eatable, sorry Auntie Ellen, I know how you liked this back in the fifties. Now I've done my homework, talked to a bunch of folks in the cooking business, researched
OKAY, let's get to the good stuff – READ MORE > ยป

13 thoughts on “Better Beef Stroganoff

  1. Lana @ Never Enough Thyme

    I do love a good stroganoff! And I make the ground beef and soup version on occasion myself. Mostly when I'm rushed for time on a week night. But I'm going to have to take my time on a weekend and do this version! Love that combination of beef and mushrooms with that creamy sauce! My mouth is watering for a plate full of this and it's not even 9:00 in the morning!

    Reply
  2. Inspired by eRecipeCards

    Have to laugh at this. i get to rule my kitchen, but my wife makes what she considers the perfect stroganoff… In the interests of a peaceful home, i will love yesterday recipes and tomorrows, but dare not consider competing with stroganoff

    Reply
  3. Marguerite

    Looks like a killer stroganoff and I love the idea of marinating the sirloin! And the mushrooms, vermouth, and wine in the sauce is perfect. Batten down the hatches, cher, and good luck with T.S. Lee!

    Reply
  4. Magic of Spice

    I can not tell you just how happy I am that you have never tried "walrus hide", you crack me up! This is one delightful beef stroganoff recipe, wow!Hope you have an amazing weekend my friend ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  5. Ellie

    Every time I make beef stroganoff my meat is so tough. I usually dont take the meat out and then add the rest of the goodies. Maybe that is what I am doing wrong!!! I will definitley try this ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

