Butter Peas, Speckle Butter Beans, Field Pea Medley

 End of Summer Bean Medley

Okay, I know summer is over for many but technically, here in the northern hemisphere it ain't over until the big sunny man jumps over the fence, or equator meteorological speaking. Summer officially ends or Fall officially starts, whichever way you look at it, on Friday, Sept 23rd. It happens precisely when the daylight hours and the nighttime are equal, the same, as in 12 fullaroos. Now what does this have to do with today's recipe, not a hill of beans…

Sometimes I find small quantities of beans and peas left over from other cooking days that I merely threw into a bag of mishmash for perhaps a soup or stew. Stored away in the freezer, I feel safer knowing there are goodies stashed away, I know, kind of squirrelly of me.
OKAY, let's get to the good stuff – READ MORE > »

8 thoughts on “Butter Peas, Speckle Butter Beans, Field Pea Medley

  1. Sandra

    Ive tried several times to cook my beans healthier by using smoked turkey or turkey bacon for seasoning. However, there's nothing like a big fat hamhock in a pot of beans.

    Reply
  2. MaryMoh

    Ha, Drick, I am back after a while of absence! Just had been so caught up with learning how to make mooncakes and then rushing with all the orders. Tiring but fun. Miss all your posts. Love this one…..very healthy and looks very delicious. I just bought a packet of 5 grains which I made with turkey soup yesterday. It's very delicious. Now I'm thrilled with this mixed beans. I will add that to turkey soup too. Would be so delicious on a cold day, and easy too on a busy day 😀 😀 .The weather is really not good these days. I hope you have better weather there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

