Southern Coffee Punch

Sing a round with me…

Most gatherings at holiday times are lifted with songs in a spirited way; growing up at our house was no exception.

There is a commercial currently airing on TV that is precious yet the song itself reminds me of our many late night attempts of caroling around town.

The lyrics (after a bowl of punch) goes something like this:

Fleas naughty dog,
There’s fleas on your dad,
Fleas naughty dog,
Protect us and the fleas from my dad.

I want to wish you a Merry Christmas,
I want to wish you a Merry Christmas,
I want to wish you a Merry Christmas,
From the bottom of my heart.

Police car ahead,
Police got my dad,
Police car ahead,
Prospero año y Felicidad.

This punch is similar to many and as the recipe varies in ingredients, so does the name. My favorite around Christmas is Santa’s Helper as I’m sure if you leave a mug of this out on the eve, the big guy will not only get a jolt of goodness but just maybe you’ll get something extra under the tree.

Enjoy!

Southern Coffee Punch

8 cups strong, warm coffee
1 gallon vanilla bean ice cream
one-fifth Jim Beam Bourbon or your favorite
Whipping cream if desired

Allow ice cream to soften a bit and mix with the warm coffee. Stir in the bourbon and fold in desired whipped cream. Place in a punch bowl.

Alternative: Ladle punch into cups, add a dollop of whipped cream, a candy cane if desired and serve.

Leave a Reply

