My Version of Pascal’s Manale BBQ Shrimp

served as an appetizer

Will the real Pascal recipe please stand out…

For as long as I can remember enjoying barbequed shrimp I have, like most folks, been confused on the real Pascal’s Manale recipe. The more I research it, the more confuse I become as it seems everyone including those who work there are very rigid in their opinions on the correct method and the right ingredients. Many won’t say and those who do talk babble endless about what amounts to much about nothing.

Now for those of you not familiar with BBQ shrimp, it has nothing to do what so ever with barbeque as you know it. That’s just a misnomer that somehow stuck. Pascale’s Manale is the oldest Italian restaurant still in operation in New Orleans, uptown area on Napoleon Ave, opened in 1913
OKAY, let’s get to the good stuff – READ MORE > »

8 thoughts on “My Version of Pascal’s Manale BBQ Shrimp

  1. Pegasuslegend

    hmm I am certain I commented… wonder what happened came back after reading about you at Trixs place to see whats new.. glad I came back! Love the idea of barbecued shrimps the seasonings here as usual are perfect, can you do a road trip? italian style creole cooking here lol !

    Reply
  2. redkathy

    This is new one for me Drick, sounds fantastic! Sounds like many other regional recipes, lots of variations of what everyone calls "the real" recipe!Have a great weekend!

    Reply
  3. Magic of Spice

    I am just going to say that this is probably the best version of BBQ Shrimp I have come across! What a fabulous melding of flavors… divine recipe my friend, just divine!

    Reply
  4. Anonymous

    So far no one has it right….My father was blessed to receive the recipe 35 years ago! I have been sworn to secrecy. Margarine and lots of black pepper are two main ingredients, but I can't tell the secret one which I haven't seen anyone put on their site.

    Reply
  5. Joan

    I have been craving Manale's shrimp ever since I had it there for a po'boy at lunch years ago. I need crave no longer! This was AH-MAY-ZING!!!! I did use the beer, and a bit of olive oil instead of margarine. Otherwise, followed your recipe to a t (except I used fresh rosemary as that's what I had.) SO even said he didn't want to dip the bread (sacrilege!) as it would fill up his stomach too much and not leave enough for the amazing shrimp! Didn't want to make the trip to the asian markets for head on shrimp, so just used frozen, shell on… I just have to say, SERIOUSLY, SERIOUSLY GOOD! Next day is even better….thanks for posting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

